WBI Professional Development Program

Changes to the Homeowner Protection Act and Regulations have been made to create an enhanced licensing system for BC residential builders. If you are a general contractor who wants to renew a residential builder licence, you must take Continuing Professional Development (CPD). This applies to general contractors who build single-family homes or small residential buildings in B.C. (under Part 9 of the BC Building Code). As a valued builder member we want to ensure you obtain your credits for renewal.

For more information regarding requirements visit Licensing and Consumer Services (the branch of BC Housing)


Announcing Our New Webinars for CPD Credits

WBI Home Warranty developed professional and effective online courses to help general contractors meet BC Housing’s new criteria of 40 CPD credits before issuing residential business licences. It’s easy! Register now and get started.


For More Information



New Applicants

Before BC Housing – Licensing and Consumer Services can issue a residential builder’s licence, new applicants (classified as general contractors who will be constructing single-family homes and small residential buildings in British Columbia under Part 9 of the BC Building Code), are required to meet a new qualification standard.

License Holders

Within your license term you will have to complete 40 CPD credits within the following categories:

  • Formal learning
  • Informal learning
  • On-the-job learning through active practice

You can earn one CPD point by completing:

  • 20 hours of active practice, defined as being actively engaged in the construction management of new homes during the year
  • 30 minutes of formal learning, defined as passing or successfully completing structured courses and training sessions, including exams or assignments, from approved organizations
  • One hour of informal learning, defined as taking part in conferences, seminars, workshops, industry association meetings, or residential construction research and development

To reach the minimum of 40 points, you may apply up to:

  • 20 points from active practice
  • 40 points from formal learning
  • 20 points from informal learning

Need more information regarding CPD?